Mathical at the 2017 National Math Festival

On in April 2017, 20,000 math lovers of all ages joined the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) in Washington, D.C. for the 2017 National Math Festival. Representing Mathical Book Prize winners were 2017 Mathical Award Winner Dr. Christopher Danielson (Which One Doesn’t Belong? A Shapes Book) and 2015 Mathical Honor Book authors Joan Holub (Zero the Hero) and Laura Overdeck (Bedtime Math).

All photographs © 2017, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute. National Math Festival photography by Amanda Kowalski, Lexey Swall, and Keith Lane.

Winners Announcement 2015

A class of 4th graders from Sacred Heart School in Washington, DC joined Mathical award winners Laura Gehl, Richard Evan Schwartz, and Elle Cosimano for an announcement event at Mount Pleasant Neighborhood Library on April 17, 2015.

Rebecca Goldin, selection committee co-chair; Roger Strauch, MSRI board chair, and David Eisenbud, MSRI director, did the honors.

Mathical at the 2015 National Book Festival