The Mathical selection panel is drawn from librarians, teachers, mathematicians, early childhood experts, and others. The jury selects winners in five grade-level categories: PreK, K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12.

2017 Prize Co-Chairs

  • Jordan Ellenberg (co-chair), professor of mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and author of How Not To Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking
  • Rebecca Goldin (co-chair), professor of mathematical sciences, George Mason University and director, STATS

2017 Prize Selection Panel

  • Betsy Bird, collection development manager, Evanston Public Library system, youth materials specialist, New York Public Library, and reviewer for Kirkus and the New York Times
  • Maria Caplin, teacher, Bailey Elementary School, Dublin, Ohio
  • David Eisenbud, director, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) and professor of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley
  • John Ewing, president, Math for America
  • Linda Gojak, mathematics curriculum specialist and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Herbert Ginsburg, professor of psychology and education, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Jeff Goodby, co-chairman, Goodby, Silverstein & Partners
  • Katie Hendrickson, advocacy and policy manager,, and former secondary mathematics teacher
  • Jeanne Petarra-Weeks, teacher, Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • Alice Peters, Chief of Operations and Program Developer for Publications, National Museum of Mathematics (MoMath)
  • Candice Price, assistant professor of mathematical sciences, United States Military Academy West Point
  • Ivelisse Rubio, professor of computer science, University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras
  • Michael Shaughnessy, professor of mathematics, Portland State University, and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Robin Shepley-Shornstein, librarian, Woodstock Day School in Woodstock, New York
  • Roger Strauch, chair, MSRI Board of Trustees, and chairman, The Roda Group
  • Eleanor Terry Vierling, math teacher and college advisor, High School of Telecommunication Arts and Technology in Brooklyn, New York
  • Fran Wilson, teacher, Madeira Elementary School, Cincinnati, Ohio