The Mathical selection panel is drawn from librarians, teachers, mathematicians, early childhood experts, and others. The jury selects winners in five grade-level categories: PreK, K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12.

Several of the 2020 Mathical Selection Committee members

Several of the 2020 Mathical Selection Committee members at the annual selection meeting in New York City. Front row (from left): Elizabeth (Betsy) Bird and Rebecca Goldin. Back row: Jeanne Petarra Weeks, Katie Hendrickson, Alice Peters, Candice Price, and Mike Shaughnessy.

2020 Prize Co-Chairs

  • Betsy Bird, collection development manager, Evanston Public Library system, and reviewer for Kirkus and the New York Times
  • Dr. Jordan Ellenberg (co-chair), professor of mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and author of How Not To Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking
  • Dr. Rebecca Goldin (co-chair), professor of mathematical sciences, George Mason University and director, STATS

2020 Prize Selection Panel

  • Dr. David Eisenbud, director, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) and professor of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley
  • Linda Gojak, mathematics curriculum specialist and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Dr. Herbert Ginsburg, emeritus professor of psychology and education, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Katie Hendrickson, advocacy and policy manager,, and former secondary mathematics teacher
  • Jeanne Petarra-Weeks, teacher professional development lead, Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • Alice Peters, Publications Manager, Julia Robinson Mathematics Festival
  • Dr. Candice Price, assistant professor of mathematics, Smith College
  • Dr. Ivelisse Rubio, professor of computer science, University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras
  • Dr. Richard Schwartz, professor of mathematics, Brown University
  • Dr. Michael Shaughnessy, professor emeritus of mathematics and statistics at Portland State University and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Dylan Teut,  director, Plum Creek Children’s Literacy Festival in Seward, Nebraska, and instructor of literacy, Concordia University
  • John Urschel, graduate student in mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and former offensive lineman for the NFL’s Baltimore Ravens
  • Fran Wilson, teacher, Madeira Elementary School, Cincinnati, Ohio