The Mathical selection panel is drawn from librarians, teachers, mathematicians, early childhood experts, and others. The jury selects winners in five grade-level categories: PreK, K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12.

2022 Prize Co-Chairs

  • Betsy Bird (co-chair), collection development manager, Evanston Public Library system, and reviewer for Kirkus and the New York Times
  • Katie Hendrickson (co-chair), president of the advocacy coalition, and former secondary school mathematics teacher
  • Dr. Candice Price (co-chair), assistant professor of mathematics, Smith College and co-founder of the website Mathematically Gifted and Black

2022 Prize Selection Panel

  • Dr. David Eisenbud, director, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) and professor of mathematics, University of California, Berkeley (ex officio)
  • Jeanine Brownell, Director of Content and Instruction, Early Teaching and Learning Academy. Erikson Institute
  • Dr. Kristopher Childs, Chief Equity & Social Justice Officer, Open-Up Resources, former secondary school mathematics teacher, and host of the DrKChilds YouTube channel with videos for teachers
  • Gabriella DeLeon-DeHaan, Dual Language Teacher, San Bernardino City Unified School District
  • Sondra Eklund, Youth Services Manager, Fairfax County Public Library, and former college mathematics teacher
  • Dr. Rebecca Garcia, Professor of Mathematics, Sam Houston State University, Co-Director of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute Undergraduate Program (MSRI UP), and co-organizer of
  • Linda Gojak, mathematics curriculum specialist and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Dr. Herbert Ginsburg, professor emeritus of psychology and education, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Celina Gonzalez, Program Coordinator, FoodCorps Oregon, and former multiple subjects teacher/education specialist
  • Genesis Grullón, 8th grade math teacher, Bronx Writing Academy (New York)
  • Araceli Moreno, bilingual adult services librarian, McHenry Public Library District (Illinois)
  • Chris Nho, Lesson Developer, Desmos, former secondary school mathematics teacher, and co-founder of Public Math
  • Jeanne Petarra-Weeks, former teacher and professional development lead, Cleveland Metropolitan School District (Ohio)
  • Alice Peters, Publishing Consultant and Managing Editor, Journal of Computer Graphics Techniques
  • Dr. Michael Shaughnessy, professor emeritus of mathematics and statistics at Portland State University and past president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • Dr. John Urschel, member of the School of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, and former offensive lineman for the NFL’s Baltimore Ravens
  • Dr. Terrell Young, professor of children’s literature, Brigham Young University